Andrew Peters Wires Outlaw Micro Sprint Feature on Night One of Illinois SPEED Week

Andrew Peters - Connor Hamilton photo
Andrew Peters – Connor Hamilton photo


Belleville, IL– Andrew Peters of Converse, Indiana wired the field to capture his first POWRi Speedway Motors 600cc Outlaw Micro Series feature victory of 2016 on the opening night of Illinois SPEED Week at Belle-Clair Speedway. Starting on the pole of the 20 lap main, Peters barely edged Nathan Benson for the lead on the opening lap. Dodging several slide job attempts in the early goings, Peters worked to maintain a solid rhythm only for the red to fly on lap three for Matt Howard and Steven Shebester on the front stretch.

Returning to green, Peters worked to put distance between himself and the rest of the field as he built momentum on the high side of the high banked Belle-Clair Speedway. Peters saw one more yellow to slow his charge to victory lane as Kameron Key came to a stop on the back stretch. Returning to green, Miles Paulus started pressuring Nathan Benson for second, ultimately taking the position, but never coming close enough to challenge for the lead. Benson ended up third, while Jeremy Camp took fourth. Nick Howard rounded out the top five. Andy Bishop was the recipient of the Sport City Honda of Jacksonville Hard Charger Award after going 20th to 10th.
“We finally did it,” said Peters. “It’s all come together. Pretty good for our third race out this year. It was a good deal. We’ve been struggling a little bit and it feels good to get this PMP rolling.”

“This is pretty neat,” Paulus said. “I ran a spec tire and the hotter it got the better it got.”

“We were catching Peters there before that last caution, but we needed some lap traffic to break it up,” said Benson. “Congrats to him and Miles on a good run. We’ll work a little harder and be better for tomorrow.”

Speedway Motors Heat Race Winners: Heat 1: 37H – NICK HOWARD, Heat 2: 2B – NATHAN BENSON, Heat 3: 3B – SHELBY BOSIE, Heat 4: 73 – JASON MCDOUGAL, Heat 5: 21M – STEVEN SHEBESTER, Heat 6: 94 – ANDREW PETERS, Heat 7: 98P – MILES PAULUS

C Feature Winner: 9S – AUSTIN STEWART

Semi Feature Winner: 3 – ARYTON GENNETTEN, N2 – NIC HARRIS

Great Clips Feature Winner: 94 – ANDREW PETERS

POWRi Speedway Motors 600cc Outlaw Micro Series Feature Results (20 laps): 1. 94 – ANDREW PETERS 2. 98P – MILES PAULUS 3. 2B – NATHAN BENSON 4. 23 – JEREMY CAMP 5. 37H – NICK HOWARD 6. 29 – SCOTT SAWYER 7. 3 – ARYTON GENNETTEN 8. 33M – RYAN MUELLER 9. 3B – SHELBY BOSIE 10. 42 – ANDY BISHOP 11. 14 – KURT WESTERFIELD 12. N2 – NIC HARRIS 13. 99 – ALEC LONG 14. 77W – JOEY WIRTH 15. 30T – TYLER VANTOLL 16. 22S – SLATER HELT 17. 16T – ALEC CARBERRY 18. 8W – BREANNA WIRTH 19. 7JR – KAMERON KEY 20. 51B – JOE B MILLER 21. 21M – STEVEN SHEBESTER 22. 8H – MATT HOWARD 23. 73 – JASON MCDOUGAL

For more information, visit

Derek Schuett
POWRi Media

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Check Also

July 27th, 2018 Results

600cc Winged Micros A Feature 1 00:00:00 Pos Start Driver Hometown Car 1 7 Ayrton …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *